travel responsibly

make a difference through travel

My top five wanderlust inducing books

reading

I have to admit, reading novels is one of my guilty pleasures, especially when I am finally on holiday and have actually the time for such luxuries. However, I have recently had some great bed time reading, which made me want to travel even more and especially to some unusual places. And since I am not the only one, who cannot travel as much as we´d like, here are some inspirational tales to travel in your own mental cinema.

1) A son of the circus by John Irving – India

This great novel by John Irving is mainly set in Mumbai, India. The main character of the book does not travel around the country, yet, sheds light on certain aspects of Indian culture and beliefs, which leaves you longing to know more about this marvelous country. I certainly do!

2) The moment by Douglas Kennedy – (East) Berlin

That Moment by Douglas Kennedy is for a great part set in Berlin, while it was still sperated in East and West. It gives one a great impression on life in both parts of the city at this time as well as how different Berlin became after the wall fell. For a German person from the south this contrast is something absolutely fascinating and when I visited Berlin the Museum dedicated to the DDR was one of the most memorable experiences of the whole trip. And the best part about Berlin, divided or not, as reflected in this book, is that it is a melting pot of cultures and absolutely mezmerizing place to be.

3) A thousand splendid suns by Khaled Hosseini -Afgahnistan

A thousand splendid suns by Khladed Hosseini shows Afgahnistan to the world from the side of a native, not international media. It tells the story of two woman on the verge of the Taliban take over. You feel like you are traveling with them on their escape and want to explore more of this marvelous country.

4) Manduchai by Tanja Kinkel – Mongolia & China

Manduchai by Tanja Kinkel tells the story of the last Mongolian Queen as well as the most influential of the Chinese emperors Konkubines, whose lives intervene serveral times. One can imagine exploring the Forbidden City in Beijing, China, as well as crossing Mongolia on horseback and cannot wait to actually do it in person!

5) Silk by Alessandro Baricco – France, Japan and everything in between

This book follows the adventurous journeys of a young French silk worm breeder, who when silk worms in Europe are threatened by an epidemic, travels all the way to Japan to retrieve healthy silk worm eggs. Alessandro Baricco has such a way with words, pure poetry in the form of a novel.

What about you? What are your favourite wanderlust enducing books? Please share them with me in the comments below as I am always eager to discover new favourite novels 😉

Photo credit: Jean-Etienne Minh-Duy Poirrier via http://www.flickr.com

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “My top five wanderlust inducing books

  1. I have not read any of these books, although I have heard of one or two. I would love to read the one set in Berlin, I find this bit of history fascinating. Thanks for the recommendations.

    Like

    • Hi Ana, thanks for the comment and I hope you enjoy the book. It was one of those I had to keep reading compulsively even though it made me slightly untisocial in an occasion or two – Oops 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love anything by John Irving and A Thousand Splendid Suns is a great book too. Awesome picks! I need to read the others now too!

    Like

    • Hi Laura, thank you for your comment. I am happy to hear you share my passion for John Irving´s books, I have read most of them already haha Hope you enjoy the othere, too!

      Like

  3. twoscotsabroad on said:

    Lots of great titles I’ve yet to read. I tackled On The Road by Jack Kerouac at the start of our trip but in all honesty found it a slow read. I prefer non-fiction though. I’m a hard nut to please with books. Short attention span like a toddler. Great post.

    Like

    • Hi Gemma, thanks for your comment. I too, get easily distracted, so these books are just some of the few I could not stop reading haha Give it a shot and let me know what you think!

      Like

  4. One of the best experiences I had was visiting Sicily and finding a copy of Matthew Fort’s Wild Honey Bitter Lemons in the living room. It was great reading about the place I was visiting! I do understand your passion for travel writing, though I have only read A thousand splendid suns – I shall look out for the other books now

    Like

  5. These are all great reads. I think I’ve read four out of the five you have listed. A sun of the circle was one of my favorite ones. I’m not much of a reader at home but definitely enjoy reading a great book on vacation. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. travelwithmrst on said:

    I’ve read #3, but none of the others. “All The Light We Cannot See” by Anthony Doerr brought back memories of my time in St. Malo. I also enjoyed Michael Crichton’s “Travels” which is so different from his adventure novels; it is a book about his own adventures traveling from 1971-1986!

    Like

  7. I’ve only read A Thousand Splendid Suns. Can’t wait to read the other ones on the list. Thanks for the wanderlust inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Out of this list, I’ve only read a Thousand Splendid Suns, which was amazing. Thanks for sharing the others.

    Like

  9. i have A Thousand Splendid Sons on my bookshelf but i haven’t cracked it open! i guess i will have to get to it! will definitely check out these others too!

    Like

  10. I love books set in the Middle East, bough “A thousand splendid suns” , but haven’t read it yet. Have you read “tThe kite runner” of Hosseini? One of the best books I have ever read.
    http://www.postcardsfromtheworld.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

