travel responsibly

make a difference through travel

A travel bucket list for 2015

I have considered many times to include a travel “bucketlist” to my blog, but I also always decided against it for three reasons:

1)Put it on a list and the pressure´s on, good old German style.

Once I put something on a list to do it has to be done and if I do not manage to get it done I feel bad about myself, so why would I do a list I am not sure I can hold up since I want to go EVERYWHERE?!?

2) Focusing on lists sometimes distracts you to see the big picture

I like slow travel and always hated people who just travel to tick things off a list. It is impossible to fully immerse into travel experiences, as the most amazing things often happen out of nowhere totally unpredictably, having a “to do list” in the back of your head.

2) Put it on a list and the pressure´s on, good old German style.

Once I put something on a list to do it has to be done and if I do not manage to get it done I feel bad about myself, so why would I do a list I am not sure I can hold up since I want to go EVERYWHERE?!?

3) What is a bucketlist anyway? Why is it called bucketlist?

I googled it serveral times and apparently it comes from another weird expression, going “to kick the bucket”, which means to die. The expressions origin is unclear, but most likely related with hanging, either as execution or suicide. The term bucket list itself has been coined by the movie with the same name and is in common usage ever since.

Any kind of bucket list would have to be therefore a) be obtainable/achievable within a given period of time without pressure, b) leave room for flexibility and adventure and c) not be related to the expectation of death, but with life at heart.

I was therefore more than excited to come across the Transun bucket list competition, which encourages you to create a short bucket list of three items  for the year 2015 (achievable!), considering your own itinerary (flexible!) to win a trip to either Finland or Sweden to see the norther lights (not related to the expectation of death in any way, but embracing life to the fullest!).

So what is my travel bucket list for 2015?

1) China

I have been dreaming to go to China for many many years now and within only a few days time this dream will become reality! We´ll be travelling around the country for about three weeks including highlights like the terracota warriors and the great wall, but also places to enjoy culture, nature and countryside.

233

This is a Chinese pogade in a park in Munich. I can´t wait to see the real thing!

 

2) Sweden

This may sound a bit weird now, but I have been thinking about visiting Sweden since I saw the royal wedding on TV a few years ago. Besides showing the wedding, the program I watched included a lot about the Swedish culture, architecture and it´s countryside, which all looked rather enticing to me. Apparently there is a tour, with which you can exlplore Stockholm from above, walking over the roofs of the houses. Who would not want to do that?

3) Peru

The only country I visited in South America so far has been Brasil. The two other countries I absolutely long to see are Peru and Mexico, but as I may actually get to go to Chile with my partner to visit his family later this year, I chose Peru to be on this list as I will not miss to prolong my trip to go there and see Machu Pichu, lake Titikaka and just enjoy this amazing countryside.

And what are your top three travel plans for 2015?

To take part in this competition publish a post on your top three bucket list destinations for this year and tweet it to @transun #transunlights before the 30th of April. You can find the terms and conditions here.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

