travel responsibly

make a difference through travel

What do you want to do when you grow up?

In the good old days, I was told, when being asked “What do you want to be when you grow up?”, most kids would answer: “I want to be a doctor”, “I want to be a fireman”, “I want to be a ballerina”, giving a clear picture of what they had in mind.
Nowadays, I read in a paper, when being asked “What do you want to be when you grow up?”, most kids just answer “rich”, without any notion of the effort which in most cases are necessary to achieve this goal.
My own answer for this world famous question was: “I just want to be happy”. So ultimately, for me it was never so much of what I wanted to be, but what I wanted to do. And what I wanted to do with my life was travel! See the world, meet a lot of people, learn about their culture, customes and heritage, and eventually also make a difference in the world.

1914536_1200536088239_6567940_n

Me on the Empire State Building in New York City.

After studying Tourism Managment and working in this area for two years I am well aware that what a lot of companies want to sell to you as a “green tourism experience” usually barely scratches even the coating of what could be a truly sustainable and unique holiday. An argument against sustainable tourism is often its price, but if you look at it carefully, some of the most fun and interactive ways of travelling responsibly are quite affordable if not even free.

So I think my dream can be reality and to share it I created this blog.

And what do you want to do when you grow up?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

